Who We Are

Meet our team

The Arbutus board (below) is small at present… which is intentional until we are more established and have found our footing. Small, for now, is more agile. Arbutus and its projects require a team of talented folks to function—no one works without help from many others. Marion Koltun is the Executive Director who keeps us operating and on track, Jose Reyes designed this web site. Zak Shusterman provides us with legal advice and Lia Sweet at RZO with financial advice. Salwa Benloubane is our Office Administrator. Kate Jackson and the Grandstand team help with marketing and publicity.

Board of Directors

David Byrne

David Byrne is the founder of the Arbutus Foundation, a non-profit organization dedicated to re-imagining the world through projects that inspire and educate. He launched Reasons to be Cheerful as the Foundation’s first project, and is its in-house headline writer. With Mala Gaonkar, David co-authored Theater Of The Mind, and is developing Arbutus' next delicious work.

Karen Wong

Karen Wong is the Deputy Director of the New Museum, a mid-size museum renowned for its entrepreneurial platforms and mission: new art and new ideas. She sits on the nonprofit boards of National Sawdust, a new music performance venue, Rhizome, a platform for born-digital art, PlusPool, a water-filtering public pool in the East River, and Apex for Youth, a mentoring and education program for under-served Asians.

Malu Byrne

Malu Byrne is a multidisciplinary artist and the creator of EN Jewelry Studio. Her work has been featured in The New York Times, Vogue, and displayed at the Hammer Museum. She is based in Upstate New York. Malu is proudly a member of the board to maintain and uphold the Arbutus mission.

Executive Director

Marion Koltun

Marion Koltun believes that Arbutus is an organization with dimensions presenting endless possibilities. She has brought demonstrated success in nonprofit management, strategic planning, and resource development to many organizations such as Alvin Ailey Dance Foundation, The New 42nd Street/The New Victory Theater, and Dance Theater Workshop.